Home > Spotify Error Code Solutions

How to Fix Common Spotify Error Codes?

Published on December 29th, 2021 Updated: April 11th, 2022

There are a few common Spotify error codes:

-41001: This error code indicates that the Spotify client is not compatible with the device it is trying to connect to.

-41002: This error code indicates that the Spotify client is not compatible with the version of the Spotify service it is trying to connect to.

-9: This error code indicates that the Spotify client is unable to connect to the Spotify service. This could be due to a number of factors, including network connectivity issues or the Spotify service being down.

-4: This error code indicates that the Spotify client is unable to connect to the Spotify service due to a proxy or firewall issue.

-8: This error code indicates that the Spotify client is unable to connect to the Spotify service due to a DNS issue.

If you didn't find success with an option above, then try:

  1. If you're experiencing error code 4, try these steps:
    • go to your system's 'Network and Sharing Center'
    • click 'Change advanced sharing settings'
    • in the 'Advanced sharing settings' window, expand the 'Private' section
    • under 'Network discovery', select 'Turn on network discovery' and 'Turn on automatic setup of network connected devices'
    • click 'Save changes'
  2. If you're experiencing error code 11, try these steps:
    • go to your system's 'Network and Sharing Center'
    • click 'Change advanced sharing settings'
    • in the 'Advanced sharing settings' window, expand the 'All Networks' section
    • under 'Public folder sharing', select 'Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public folders'
    • click 'Save changes'
  3. If you're experiencing error code 13, try these steps:
    • go to your system's 'Network and Sharing Center'
    • click 'Change advanced sharing settings'
    • in the 'Advanced sharing settings' window, expand the 'All Networks' section
    • under 'Public folder sharing', select 'Turn off Public folder sharing'
    • click 'Save changes'